top of page
  • Writer's pictureNicole Gemma C

End of Year Reflection


Hey everyone,


You may have read my very first blogged reflection and evaluation...and just in case you've been wondering, is she okay? Is she still working at it? Is she going to update us? The answer is, yes!


Now that the school year is coming to a close, and I am just about to graduate, I have a lot to think about in terms of my future and what kind of career I will pursue in fashion. Whilst there is a lot to look forward to, the unknown can be a bit daunting, of course.


In this blog I would like to share a bit about what went well with my finished collection, some challenges I faced throughout the process, and how or what could be improved in future, based off of this experience.


THE GOOD

- I have produced a very cohesive range. The collection is cohesive in terms of its 1950s punk theme. The tartan pattern, colour palette and fabric selection has remained consistent, making my final garments great as both part of a collection and as stand-alone pieces.





- I have managed to complete all my garments in time for the end-of-year fashion parade.


- I got selected to showcase my collection at Melbourne Fashion Week!


- I have identified my niche target market


- I have surprised myself with effective problem solving throughout the year. Any small or big disaster which occurred (I ain't gonna point them out though) got resolved, in some of the whackiest of ways...but they worked, and for that I am proud of myself.


THE BAD (Okay, not that bad... I mean, the CHALLENGES)

- At the start of the year I was not the best pattern-maker, and it was not something my mind naturally 'clicked' with...I also transferred from a different school, so I had to adapt my learning and skills into a new environment quick smart. My understanding of the topic has escalated drastically, and I am just so shocked and happy about that.


- Sewing with PVC was certainly challenging, but we got there in the end! And you can read more about some great tips for sewing with this fabric in my previous blogs.


- Managing deadlines and stress was probably the biggest difficulty I faced. However, if I could go back, I don't think there is anything I could have actually done much differently - all things considered. Personality type, natural skills, learning styles, a supportive network, etc all plays a part.



THE UGLY (BEAUTIFUL) truth about WHAT COULD BE IMPROVED IN FUTURE:

- I could definitely use more sustainable fabrics in future. That's definitely something I care about.


- My mindset and self-beliefs, or, self-talk. Next time I have any project of any kind, ever again, I really need to have more faith and trust in my own abilities. I also ought to rely on myself and not others in difficult times. I learned that we only truly have ourselves, at the end of the day.



Overall, I sure worked my butt off this year, and I cannot deny it has truly been a rollercoaster ride... What can I say? Let's see what the next chapter is from here!


Nicole xx


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page